Highlights, Special Features and Opportunities

Augustana students studying abroad

Augustana students at the Bio-Itzá Association School in Guatemala, on a course taught by Drs. David O'Hara and Craig Spencer.


Religion majors may qualify for scholarships from Association for Lutherans, Lutheran Brotherhood, the Orvis Hanson Religion Scholarship, the Frederick A. Rusch Memorial Scholarship, and others. Philosophy majors may qualify for the Stanley Olsen Scholarship. Classics students may qualify for the Frederick A. Rusch Memorial Scholarship.


The campus Philosophy Club provides students with a chance to explore their philosophical interests. Augustana also has a chapter of Phi Sigma Tau, an international honor society in philosophy.


In recent years, our faculty has received the following awards and honors:

Frederick C. Kohlmeyer Distinguished Teaching Professor

  • 1999-2001: Murray Haar
  • 2009-2011: Richard Swanson

The Vernon and Mildred Niebuhr Faculty Excellence Award

  • 2002-2003: Ann Pederson
  • 2005-2006: Murray Haar
  • 2008-2009: Richard Swanson
  • 2011-2012: David O'Hara

Carole Bland Cultivating Faculty Excellence Endowment

  • 2010-2011: Ann Pederson

The Jane and Charles Zaloudek Faculty Research Fellowship

  • 2009-2010: David O'Hara

Augustana Student Association Faculty Recognition Award

  • 2007: David O'Hara
  • 2010: Ann Pederson

Stanley L. Olsen Chair of Moral Values 

  • 1990-1993: Murray Haar
  • 2002-2005: Ann Pederson
  • 2007-2010: Richard Bowman

The Granskou Award

  • 1998: Richard Swanson
  • 2009: Richard Swanson

Our Savior's Lutheran Church Chair in Religion

  • 2009-2011: Chris Croghan

The Clara Lea Olson Endowed Chair in Christian Values

  • 2001-2010: Richard Swanson
  • 2014-2017: Stephen Minister