May 1-5: See the Classic Musical "South Pacific"

Event Details

Date: April 30 - May 4, 2013

Times: May 1-5: 7:30 p.m. | May 4-5: 2 p.m.

Location: Edith Mortenson Center Theatre

Ticket Info: $15 for adults; $10 for seniors | Free for Augustana students and faculty with ID|

The Augustana Performing and Visual Arts Department will present the classic musical "South Pacific," directed by Dan Workman, at the Edith Mortenson Center Theatre May 1-5.

Performances will begin at 7:30 p.m. May 1-5 and at 2 p.m. May 4-5. The performance on Thursday, May 2, will be interpreted for the deaf and hard-of-hearing. View photos from dress rehearsal.

Buy Tickets

Set in an island paradise during World War II, two parallel love stories are threatened by the dangers of prejudice and war. Nellie, a spunky nurse from Arkansas, falls in love with a mature French planter, Emile. Nellie learns that the mother of his children was an island native and, unable to turn her back on the prejudices with which she was raised, refuses Emile's proposal of marriage. Meanwhile, the strapping Lt. Joe Cable denies himself the fulfillment of a future with an innocent Tonkinese girl with whom he's fallen in love out of the same fears that haunt Nellie. When Emile is recruited to accompany Joe on a dangerous mission that claims Joe's life, Nellie realizes that life is too short not to seize her own chance for happiness, thus confronting and conquering her prejudices.

Tickets are available at and are $15 for adults and $10 for seniors. Admission is free to those with an Augustana ID.

"South Pacific" is directed by Dan Workman. Augustana’s cast includes:

  • Maren Engel, Owasso, Okla., class of 2013
  • Ian Curtis, Sioux City, Iowa, class of 2016
  • Katelynn Kenney, Box Elder, S.D., class of 2014
  • Scott Missling, Minnetonka, Minn., class of 2014
  • Travis Miller, Sioux Falls, class of 2016
  • Matt Stoffel, Sherburn, Minn., class of 2015
  • Jared Mitchell, Welch, Minn., class of 2013
  • Bryan Okerlund, Sauk Centre, Minn., class of 2013
  • Beth Schleusener, Rapid City, S.D., class of 2016
  • Chris Wilkins, Sioux Falls, class of 2015
  • Hunter Winklepleck, Sioux Falls, class of 2014
  • Gentry Pletts, Chanhassen, Minn., class of 2013
  • Tyler Raehsler, Sartell, Minn., class of 2013
  • Tyler Wasberg, Sioux Falls, class of 2013
  • Ian Rutherford, Grimes, Iowa, class of 2016
  • Erik Friestad, Sioux Falls, class of 2016
  • Jeff Larsen, Sioux Falls, class of 2016
  • Travis Clark, Box Elder, S.D., class of 2015
  • Ben Kraft, Mobridge, S.D., class of 2015
  • Christina Olson, Cottonwood, Minn., class of 2014
  • Ellen Ferry, Underwood, Minn., class of 2014
  • Kendra Gerber, Lester, Iowa, class of 2016
  • Jordan Dobrowski, Burnsville, Minn., class of 2014
  • Teresa Preuss, Echo, Minn., class of 2015
  • Brittany Dardis, Sioux Falls, class of 2015