12 Students Named to German Honor Society

Twelve students have been inducted into the Augustana chapter of Delta Phi Alpha, the national honor society for students of German. The induction ceremony was held at the Fellows' Presidential Residence on Saturday, May 7.

The following students joined the Society as new members:

  • Jacob Gaarder Bury (Sioux Falls, S.D.)
  • Mikal Ray Dickey (Minneota, Minn.)
  • Katherine Marie Foiles (Brookings, S.D.)
  • Sarah Anne Harvieux (Sioux Falls, S.D.)
  • Jessica Haugo (Waubun, Minn.)
  • Marissa Erin Knaak (St. Cloud, Minn.)
  • Evan James Livermore (Pierre, S.D.)
  • Dan Mueller (Jasper, Minn.)
  • Tin Yan Ng (Carpenter, S.D.)
  • Hannah Elizabeth Rogers (Plymouth, Minn.)
  • Kristyne Katelyn Walth (Brandon, S.D.)
  • Ho Yip (China)

Other Delta Phi Alpha members who attended the event were Alexander Buffie (Greenfield, Minn.), Kylie Dummer (Minnetonka, Minn.), Alex George , Heidi Rittenhouse (Richfield, Minn.), Nick Seliski (St. Cloud, Minn.), and Dr. Arlen Viste, honorary member of Delta Phi Alpha.

The event included two senior project presentations:

  • Heidi Rittenhouse (Richfield, Minn.): "Hitlers Obersalzberg"
  • Tin Yan Ng (Carpenter, S.D.): "Goethes 'Erlkönig': Die Vertonung."

Eta Delta, the Augustana chapter of Delta Phi Alpha, honors its members and their successful study of German language, culture, and civilization with a dinner event every semester. The advisor of Eta Delta is Dr. Stephan Lhotzky, professor of German.


Kelly Sprecher
Director of Communications & Media Relations