Class of 2012 Celebrates Commencement


Meet the Augustana Class of 2012 – 370 of the nation’s newest educators, scientists, writers, religion scholars, artists, philosophers, nurses, journalists, musicians and business professionals who on Saturday, celebrated their accomplishments at the College’s Commencement ceremony, held at the Sioux Falls Arena.

The ceremony’s speakers included retired U.S. Navy Vice Admiral Lyle Bien '67 and Hannah Miller '12, an elementary education major from Mankato, Minn.

A series of faculty awards were also presented, including:

  • The Frederick C. Kohlmeyer Distinguished Teaching Professorship, presented to Professor of Art Steve Thomas. Dr. Kohlmeyer, through a gift to Augustana upon his death in 1990, established this distinguished professorship to recognize and to reward outstanding teaching. The recipient receives a summer stipend of $5,000 for each of the two years of the award.
  • The Vernon and Mildred Niebuhr Faculty Excellence Award, presented to Dr. David O’Hara, associate professor of philosophy and classics. The Vernon and Mildred Niebuhr Faculty Excellence Award was established to provide an annual award to recognize excellence in teaching. The winner is chosen for brilliance in the classroom.


    View photos from Commencement, the Reception for Civitas Graduates and the Nurse Pinning Ceremony.

  • The Jane and Charles Zaloudek Faculty Research Fellowship, presented to Dr. Margaret Preston, associate professor and chair of the History department, and Dr. Rocki Wentzel, assistant professor of classics. The Zaloudek Faculty Research Fellowship was established in 2007 by Jane Hemmel Zaloudek and Dr. Charles Zaloudek to provide an annual fellowship to support research by a member of the Augustana faculty. The purpose of the fellowship is to support with a $5,000 stipend, faculty scholarship that extends the scope of research beyond the normal confines of the classroom.

In addition to the 10 Master of Arts degrees presented, Augustana also conferred an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters to Bien.

Class of 2012