Augustana Launches Accelerated Nursing Program

The 16-month, post-baccalaureate program is a full-time plan of study designed for students who have a college degree and have completed the prerequisite courses. Applications for the first cohort, which will begin in the fall, are due by Tuesday, April 15.

Former Augustana President Lloyd Svendsbye Dies at 83

Former Augustana president Dr. Lloyd Svendsbye died on Sunday, March 2, in Edina, Minn. He was 83. Svendsbye served the College as its 19th president from 1987-1992. Memorial services are planned for March 13-14 in Edina, Minn.

Concerto-Aria Winners Announced

Carryn Kennedy, Spencer Kruse, MIchelle Ritter and Sarah Stevens were named winners of the 2014 Concerto-Aria competition, held on Sunday in the Humanities Center. They will perform with the Augustana Orchestra in the annual Concerto-Aria concert, set for 7:30 p.m. on Friday, May 9, at the Harrisburg Performing Arts Center.

Post Your Selfie From Campus: #ACSelfie

Help us illustrate the Augustana experience by sharing a photo of yourself on campus. If you tag your photo with #ACSelfie, Augustana reserves the right to curate your photo from social media for marketing purposes.

Aging Faithfully Conference to Feature Dr. Martin Marty

Set for Thursday, Aug. 7, the one-day conference will feature keynote speaker Dr. Martin E. Marty, one of today's most prominent and articulate scholars of religion and culture. Hosted by Augustana, the Good Samaritan Society and the South Dakota Synod of the ELCA.

Fisher, Herst Named 2014 Peace Scholars

Juniors Aimée Fisher and Eric Herst have been named the 2014 Augustana Peace Scholars. The two will receive a seven-week academic experience in Norway designed to deepen their understanding of the central issues and theories related to peace, justice, democracy, and human rights.

History Unfolds During J-Term Course in Thailand

Students in Dr. Reynold Nesiba's J-Term course, "The Political Economy of Thailand," got a firsthand glimpse of the power of political demonstrations during their time in the country last month. Dr. Nesiba shared reflections from the group's time in Thailand with SDPB's Dakota Midday.

Finalists for 2014 Peace Scholarship Announced

Juniors Christian Einertson, Ellen Ferry, Aimée Fisher, Eric Herst and Erin Williams have been named finalists for the 2014 Peace  Scholarship, a prestigious honor featuring a seven-week study at the University of Oslo's International Summer School. The two recipients will be announced on Thursday, Feb. 20.