Hjerpe, Schulte Named 2013 Peace Prize Forum Scholars

Augustana today announced that juniors Alexandra (Allie) Hjerpe (Hutchinson, Minn.) and Mallory Schulte (Yankton, S.D.) have been named the 2013 Peace Prize Forum Scholars.

The Peace Prize Forum Scholars program is sponsored by the Nobel Peace Prize Forum, a consortium comprised of Augustana College, Augsburg College, Concordia College (Moorhead), Luther College, and St. Olaf College. Two students from each of the participating colleges will spend seven weeks at the University of Oslo’s International Summer School deepening their understanding of issues related to peace, justice, democracy, and human rights.

Hjerpe, an English and Journalism major, currently serves as editor in chief of the Edda, the Augustana yearbook. She is a recipient of the Augustana College Distinguished Scholars Trustees Scholarship, is an active member of Sigma Tau Delta, Augustana's English Honors Society, and is a member of Civitas, the College's Honors Program.

Schulte, a Political Science/Government and International Affairs major, serves as president of the Augustana College Women's Association, and co-president of UBG's Culture and Fine Arts Committee. She is a recipient of the the Augustana College Distinguished Scholars Trustees Scholarship and was awarded the study abroad experience to Ireland. A member of Citivas, she is also involved in the Government and Math Clubs,

The two will be introduced at the 2013 Nobel Peace Prize Forum, set for March 8-10 at Augsburg College in Minneapolis, Minn. The theme for the 2013 Forum is "The Power of Ideas: People and Peace.”

As Peace Prize Forum Scholars, Hjerpe and Schulte will embark on coursework that will include the causes of armed conflicts, peace building, peacemaking, humanitarian interventions and aid, peacekeeping operations, gender, civil society and nonviolence and peace movements. In conjunction with their studies, Peace Prize Scholars will also work on projects they will present at the 2013 Peace Prize Forum and at least two other venues throughout the upcoming year.

The Scholars will also visit a number of influential institutions including, The International Peace Research Institute, Oslo (PRIO), Nobel Institute, Oslo Center for Peace and Human Rights and the Nobel Peace Center.

Upon returning to their respective campuses, the 10 scholars will continue to communicate and find ways to build on the Oslo experience together. They will also be expected to play a leadership role in peace activities on their campuses, and assist with the upcoming Nobel Peace Prize Forum.