Four Named to German Honor Society

Four students have been inducted into the Augustana chapter of Delta Phi Alpha, the national honor society for students of German. The induction ceremony was held at the Fellows' Presidential Residence on Saturday, May 4.

The following students joined the Society as new members:

  • Andrew Gardner, class of 2014, White Bear Lake, Minn.
  • Spencer Hopewell, class of 2013, Yankton, S.D.
  • Molly Kokesh, class of 2013, Scotland, S.D.
  • Jeff Nielsen, class of 2014, Foley, Minn.

Other Delta Phi Alpha members who attended the event were Andrew Erickson, Jordan Erkens, Jessica Haugo, Marissa Knaak, Dan Mueller, Rabecca Pruitt and Kristyne Walth, as well as guest Kelly Silvers.

The event included a senior project presentations by Marissa Knaak of her German honors essay "Der Vertrag von Versailles:  Die letzte Tragödie des Ersten Weltkriegs.”

Eta Delta, the Augustana chapter of Delta Phi Alpha, honors its members and their successful study of German language, culture, and civilization with a dinner event every semester. The advisor of Eta Delta is Dr. Stephan Lhotzky, professor of German.

Not pictured above: Jeff Nielsen.