College Welcomes New Faculty Members

With the 2013-14  academic year officially underway, Augustana has welcomed the following new, full-time faculty members:

  • Dr. Lindsay A. Erickson, assistant professor of mathematics, received her B.A. and Ph.D. in mathematics from North Dakota State University where she completed her dissertation titled “The Game of Nim on Graphs.” She has been the recipient of numerous fellowships including three from the National Science Foundation — one of which placed her at the Alfred Renyi Institute in Budapest, Hungary, as a Mathematics Research Fellow studying combinatorics in 2010. Prior to coming to Augustana, Erickson served as a visiting assistant professor in mathematics at Concordia College in Moorhead, Minn.
  • Dr. Daniel Gerling, assistant professor of English, received his B.A. in philosophy and M.A. in English at Eastern Illinois University and spent significant time abroad before completing his Ph.D. in American Studies at The University of Texas at Austin. His research focuses on late-nineteenth and early-twentieth century American culture and its effect on U.S. foreign relations, and he is developing his dissertation, “American Wasteland: A Social and Cultural History of Excrement, 1860-1920,” into a book. Gerling joined Augustana last fall and this semester began serving as the director of the Writing Center, Augustana’s nationally-certified peer tutoring program.
  • Dr. Javier González, assistant professor of Spanish, received his B.A. in philosophy from the University of Northern Colorado and his M.A. in jazz historiography and research from Rutgers-Newark before completing his Ph.D. in Latin American Literature and Culture at the University of Colorado, Boulder. His dissertation explored the influence of rock music and pop culture on Latin American writers of the 1960s and 1970s which he is working on expanding and developing into a book. A native of San Juan, Argentina, González has been teaching various levels of Spanish since 2000 and has extensive experience as an interpreter and translator. He was also one of several recipients of the University of Colorado’s GPTI (Graduate Part-Time Instructors) Teaching Excellence Award this spring.
  • Dr. Abbas G. Shilabin, visiting assistant professor of chemistry, received his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the Institute of Organic Chemistry at Clausthal University of Technology, Germany, completing his dissertation on pyrrolobenzodiazepine alkaloids derived from natural products Circumdatin A and B. He has performed several post-doctoral research studies at the University of Mississippi, Temple University, and Wesleyan University and served as an assistant professor at the University of New Haven, Wesleyan University and the University of Maine before coming to Augustana. His current research interest is focused on the synthetic/medicinal chemistry and drug discovery of new non-β-lactam antibiotics via design, synthesis, and evaluation of inhibitory activity on β-Lactamase and DD-Peptidase inhibitors.

In addition to these new faculty members, Dan Workman is assuming a new tenure-track role as assistant professor in the theatre department, where he teaches directing, acting, script analysis and introduction to theatre. Workman is the president of Dakota Players (formerly The Children’s Theatre Company of South Dakota) which he co-founded with his wife and managing director Deb Workman. He is also a longtime company member of the Black Hills Playhouse and is currently serving as its Artistic Director. He has a B.F.A. in theatre performance from Tarkio College and an M.F.A. in theatre direction from the University of South Dakota.

"We're excited and humbled to have these new, talented teacher-scholars working alongside our current exceptional faculty members to help advance the Augustana mission," said Dr. Susan Hasseler, senior vice president for Academic Affairs and Dean of the College. "We're looking forward to another great academic year of serving our students while making new discoveries in research and creativity."

PHOTO ABOVE: (From left to right) Dr. Abbas Shilabin, Dr. Daniel Gerling, Dr. Javier Gonzalez and Dr. Lindsay Erickson.