Choir Members Invited to Perform at NYC's Lincoln Center

Distinguished Concerts International New York City (DCINY) has announced that 34 student members of Angelus (Augustana's women's choir) and the Collegiate Chorale will participate in a performance of Robert Harris' "Gloria" as part of the DCINY Concert Series in Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall on Saturday, May 10, in New York City.

"Augustana received this invitation because of the high quality and high level of musicianship demonstrated by the singers and the exceptional recommendation given by Dr. Robert Harris [conductor of Distinguished Concert Singers International]," said Dr. Jonathan Griffith, artistic director and principal conductor for DCINY. "These wonderful musicians not only represent a high quality of music and education, but they also become ambassadors for the entire community. This is an event of extreme pride for everybody and is deserving of the community's recognition and support."

Augustana student singers will join with other choristers from around the country to form the Distinguished Concerts Singers International. They will spend five days and four nights in New York City in preparation for the concert.

Dr. Lisa Grevlos, associate professor of music, serves as director of Angelus. Dr. Russell Svenningsen, assistant professor of music, serves as conductor of the Collegiate Chorale.

The students participating are:

  • Brianne Bertsch (Miller, S.D.)
  • Kaitlin Carlon (Council Bluffs, Iowa)
  • Jake Connealy (Omaha, Neb.)
  • Mallory  Edwards (Hardwick, Minn.)
  • Marisa Erks (Tea, S.D.)
  • Mallory Frantsen (Lakefield, Minn.)
  • Maria Graves (Lester, Iowa)
  • Alyssa Hendrickson (Lakefield, Minn.)
  • Barbara Henke (Canton, S.D.)
  • Alexandra Hjerpe (Hutchinson, Minn.)
  • Haley Hoium (Marietta, Minn.)
  • Brian Hovland (Highmore, S.D.)
  • Kenzie Kalway (St. Cloud, Minn.)
  • Natalie LeVan (Tea, S.D.)
  • Tracy Lindsay (Ghana)
  • Miranda Miller (Sioux Falls)
  • Abby Munkvold (Tea, S.D.)
  • Jesse Nelson (Milbank, S.D.)
  • Julie Nelson (Custer, S.D.)
  • Taylor Olson (Sioux Falls)
  • Ashley-Marie Paladie (St. Charles, Minn.)
  • Laura Pazour (Chamberlain, S.D.)
  • Kayla Peterson (Tea, S.D.)
  • Liz Renner (Crooks, S.D.)
  • Shelby Riker (Rapid City, S.D.)
  • Ashley Schurr (Roscoe, S.D.)
  • Julia Torgersen (Cokato, Minn.)
  • Anu Uranchimeg (Mongolia)
  • Taylor Van Winkle (Canistota, S.D.)
  • Kyle Wendland (Round Lake, Minn.)
  • Laura Wilsey (Rapid City, S.D.)
  • Alyssa Wittnebel (Nassau, Minn.)
  • Eli Yackel-Juleen (Windom, Minn.)
  • Elizabeth Zokaites (Sioux Falls)