2018-19 Christopherson Scholars Announced

Augustana University Ranked No. 1 in SD by WalletHub

Six Augustana students have been awarded Fred C. and J. Marie Christopherson Scholarships for the 2018-19 academic year.

Faculty and staff can nominate students for the awards. From there, the Augustana Faculty Scholarship and Awards Committee makes selections on the basis of scholarship, campus/community service, and how well the nominees fit the donors' description as someone “equipped for life.”

Fred C. Christopherson, who died in 1989, was the editor of the Sioux Falls Argus Leader for 31 years. J. Marie Christopherson, who died in 1989, wrote the "Driftwood" column published in the Argus Leader for 20 years.

The 2018-19 Christopherson Scholarship recipients are:

  • McKenna Bauer, a Communication Business and Journalism major from Cannon Falls, Minnesota
  • Sarah Cunningham, an English & Secondary Education major from Grove City, Minnesota
  • Doanh Do, a Nursing major from Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
  • Ashlyn Himley, a Spanish and Theatre major from Brookings, South Dakota
  • Jacob Knutson, an English, Journalism and Government major from Black Hawk, South Dakota
  • Stacie Soderstrom, a Communication Disorders major from Black Hawk, South Dakota

Kelly Sprecher
Director of Media Relations