2018 Covenant Award Nominees Announced

2018 Covenant Award nominees

Many of the 2018 Covenant Award nominees were present in Chapel on Monday for the official start of Verdier 2018.

The 2018 Augustana Covenant Award nominees were recognized on Monday, April 16, during worship in the Chapel of Reconciliation.

The Covenant Awards honor students who exemplify the University's five core values: Christian, Liberal Arts, Excellence, Community and Service.

Covenant Award recipients will be celebrated at a special ceremony on Friday, April 20, at Our Savior's Lutheran Church, as part of Verdier 2018, a week-long celebration of Augustana’s guiding values and ethics that runs April 16-21.

From Norwegian to English, "verdier" translates to "values; the moral principles and beliefs or accepted standards of a person or community."

2018 Covenant Award Nominees

Nominees for the Covenant Award for Christian Faith:

  • Alexandra Cassady, Otsego, Minnesota
  • Katherine Jacobs, Hill City, South Dakota
  • Hannah Norem, Houston, Texas
  • Lydia Simmons, Sioux Falls

Nominees for the Covenant Award for Liberal Arts

  • Lucas Barry, Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
  • Rachel Damhof, Clearwater, Minnesota
  • Allison Koehn, Brandon, South Dakota
  • Lucas Praeuner, Norfolk, Nebraska
  • Garrett Schempp, Gillette, Wyoming
  • Shelby Selland, Letcher, South Dakota
  • Taylor Stacey, Watertown, South Dakota
  • Jef Thormodsgard, Sioux Falls

Nominees for the Covenant Award for Excellence

  • Joshua Barrows, Helena, Montana
  • Emma Behling, Albert Lea, Minnesota
  • Jacob Blank, Gretna, Nebraska
  • Leah Blom, Pipestone, Minnesota
  • Cole Bruening, North Sioux City, Iowa
  • Maggie Donovan, Henry, South Dakota
  • Jonathan Heiberger, Brandon, South Dakota
  • Caitlin Janssen, Mason City, Iowa
  • Kyle Kettler, Andover, Minnesota
  • Chase Klingaman, Mitchell, South Dakota
  • Carl Lang, Lennox, South Dakota
  • Hannah Norem, Houston, Texas
  • Reed Ritterbusch, Sheridan, Wyoming
  • Abbie Sell, Brookings, South Dakota
  • Matt Wagner, Sioux Falls

Nominees for the Covenant Award for Community

  • Adam Anderson, Wentworth, South Dakota
  • Anna Anderson, Albert Lea, Minnesota
  • Noah Brown, Baltic, South Dakota
  • Emilee Buell, Pequot Lakes, Minnesota
  • Skylar DeJong, Oskaloosa, Iowa
  • Sophie Geister-Jones, Stoughton, Wisconsin
  • Jonas Gjesdal, Bergen, Norway
  • Luke Hurley, Canton, South Dakota
  • Rylee Kulka, Cottage Grove, Minnesota
  • Megan Lindely, Albert Lea, Minnesota
  • Tia McKillip, Dell Rapids, South Dakota
  • Nicole Mutchler, Sioux City, Iowa
  • Abel Negash, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Taylor Olson, New London, Minnesota
  • Taylor Stacey, Watertown, South Dakota
  • Ekram Wehabrebi, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Nominees for the Covenant Award for Service

  • Rachel Challes, Andover, Minnesota
  • James Even, Sioux Falls
  • Christina Geistfeld, Truman, Minnesota
  • Carl Lang, Lennox, South Dakota
  • Sara Roder, Le Mars, Iowa
  • Emma Schmidt, Mitchell, South Dakota

Kelly Sprecher
Director of Media Relations