2019-20 Christopherson Scholars Announced

Augustana University Ranked No. 1 in SD by WalletHub

Six Augustana students have been awarded Fred C. and J. Marie Christopherson Scholarships for the 2019-20 academic year.

Faculty and staff can nominate students for the awards. From there, the Augustana Faculty Scholarship and Awards Committee makes selections on the basis of scholarship, campus/community service, and how well the nominees fit the donors' description as someone “equipped for life.”

Fred C. Christopherson, who died in 1989, was the editor of the Sioux Falls Argus Leader for 31 years. J. Marie Christopherson, who died in 1989, wrote the "Driftwood" column published in the Argus Leader for 20 years.

The 2019-20 Christopherson Scholarship recipients are:

  • Elijah Anderson, a nursing major from Rochester, Minnesota
  • Doanh Do, a nursing major from Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
  • Abby Giambattista, a sign language interpreting major from Omaha, Nebraska
  • Kirtana Krishna Kumar, biology and philosophy major from Ghaziabad, India
  • Sara Telahun Birhe, government and philosophy major from Sioux Falls
  • Kolby Vander Woude, a history major from Sioux Falls

Katie LeBrun
Public Relations and Communications Strategist