Augustana University Announces 2020-21 Christopherson Scholarship Recipients

Six Augustana students have been awarded Fred C. and J. Marie Christopherson Scholarships for the 2020-21 academic year.
Faculty and staff nominate upperclass students (juniors and seniors) for the awards and the Augustana Faculty Scholarship and Awards Committee makes selections on the basis of scholarship, campus and community service, and how well the nominees fit the donors' description as someone “equipped for life.”
The recipients are recognized as students who are committed to the university, are respected by their peers, have a strong work ethic and a solid character. 
Fred C. Christopherson, who died in 1989, was the editor of the Sioux Falls Argus Leader for 31 years. J. Marie Christopherson, who died in 1989, wrote the "Driftwood" column published in the Argus Leader for 20 years.
The 2020-21 Christopherson Scholarship recipients are:
  • Kissanet Birhane, biology and economics major from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Bree LeBrun, communication, business and psychology major from Winnemucca, Nevada
  • Elizabeth Lee, Spanish and modern foreign languages major from Hudson, Wisconsin
  • Mariah Mantz, sign language interpreting major from Beverly, Massachusetts
  • Carly Rahn, English and secondary education major from Ames, Iowa
  • Onajite Taire, computer science and business administration major from Lagos, Nigeria

Media Inquiries: Contact Jill Wilson, public relations and communications strategist.